+353 (0)1716 1733


Centre of Micro/Nano Manufacturing Technology (MNMT-Dublin)
School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering
University College Dublin
Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland

D04 V1W8

Home/ About /  Board of Directors

 Board of Directors

Hans Nørgaard Hansen

Technical University of Denmark


Zhuangde Jiang

 Xi'an Jiaotong University


Fengzhou Fang

University College Dublin

Founder President

Professor Hans Nørgaard Hansen

Technical University of Denmark


Prof. Hansen​ is working in the field of Micro/Nano Manufacturing. He deals with establishing the basis of industrial production of products and components in metal, polymers and ceramics in the micro- and nanometer regime. Specific activities include product development, materials development and development of processes and production systems focused on micro mechanical systems. The core activities  comprise micro product design and development, tooling technologies for micro injection moulding and micro metal forming, mass production technologies, chemical and electrochemical processes and laser technologies. Finally the integration of processes into coherent process chains is a key activity.

Professor Zhuangde Jiang

Xi'an Jiaotong University, China

Prof. Jiang is an academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, Professor of Xi'an Jiaotong University, doctoral supervisor and a guest professor at the University of NewSouth Wales in Australia.

Once the Vice President of Xi'an Jiaotong University, at present, JIANG Zhuangde is aCommittee Member of the National People's Congress Standing Committee and the NationalPeople's Congress Environmental and Resources Committee, President of theShaanxi Association for Science and Technology, Director of the Institute ofPrecision Engineering of Xi'an Jiaotong University, Vice Chairman of the ChineseSociety of Micro-Nano Technology and the China Education Association ofMachinery Industry, Executive Director of the Chinese Society for Measurement,and Director of the Shaanxi Mechanical Engineering Society.

Professor Wei Gao

Tohoku University, Japan

Professor Wei Gao received his PhD degree in Precision Engineering from Tohoku University, Japan in 1994. He is currently the director of the Center for Precision Nanosystems, Tohoku University. His research interests are mainly in precision engineering, including optical sensors, dimensional measurement, micro/nano-metrology and motion control. He acted as a visiting professor of the Center for Precision Metrology, University of North Carolina, Charlotte in 1998. He is a member of the ASPE, JSPE, JSME and CIRP. He serves as an editorial board member for a number international journals, such as an Associate Editor for Precision Engineering, the journal of International Society for Precision Engineering and Nanotechnology. He has published more than 100 journal papers and has applied about 40 patents.

Professor Fengzhou Fang

University College Dublin, Ireland

Present of ISNM (2008-2016)

Prof. Fang has over 30 years of experience in working in manufacturing science and technology. He was responsible for setting up the Centre of Micro/nano Manufacturing Technology (MNMT) at Tianjin University in 2005. MNMT has been recognised as a leading manufacturing research organization in the world. He has managed a large number of national, international, and industry funded research projects. His specialist areas of interest include micro/nano manufacturing, optical freeform manufacturing, medical device/implants manufacturing, ultra-precision manufacturing and metrology. Amongst the applications areas are in medical devices, bio-medical implants, aspheric and freeform optical systems, aerospace and engineering components. Fengzhou has worked with over hundred industrial partners assisting companies to develop their R&D activities. He has published over 200 papers in peer reviewed journals, along with 12 book chapters, as well as over 50 patents.

He is the Founding President of the International Society for Nanomanufacturing (ISNM), a Council Member of the International Academy for Production Engineering (CIRP), a Charted Engineer of UK Engineering Council, and the editor-in-chief of the Internationals Journal of Nanomanufacturing (IJNM). He is a Fellow of ISNM, Fellow of CIRP, and Fellow of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME). Fengzhou is a Recipient of SME Albert M. Sargent Progress Award.Based on the MOA between Tianjin University and University College Dublin, Fengzhou is responsible of setting up the Centre of Micro/nano Manufacturing Technology (MNMT-Dublin) at UCD.